Skip to content

Krannert School of Physical Therapy

Browse Department

KSPT Honors & Awards

Our faculty have won numerous awards for excellence in their field. The Krannert School of Physical Therapy also awards our outstanding students each year. Descriptions of each award are listed below.

KSPT faculty awards

Sam Kegerreis, PT, MS, Professor

  • 2014 James A. Gould Excellence in Teaching Orthopaedic Physical Therapy Award

Stephanie  P. Kelly, PhD, PT , Dean of the College of Health Sciences

  • 2014 Leader in Physical Therapy by Ohio State University.

Emily Slaven, PT, PhD, OCS, FAAOMPT, Cert MDT, Assistant Professor

  • 2013 Medeiros Distinguished Author Award from the Journal of Manual and Manipulative Therapy. Slaven was the lead author of the article. Co-authors include Adam P. Goode, Rogelio A. Coronado, Charles Poole, and Eric J Hegedus.

William H. Staples, PT, DHS, DPT, GCS, CEEAA, Associate Professor

  • 2014 APTA Lucy Blair Service Award
  • 2013 Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy Outstanding Service Award

Julie Gahimer, PT, HSD, Professor

  • 2012 University of Indianapolis Teacher of the Year

KSPT student awards

Patterson Medical Contributor Award

The winner of this award is chosen by the graduating class as someone who has contributed the most to the enhancing the growth and development of his or her peers while in physical therapy school. The award is sponsored by Patterson Medical Group, the world's largest supplier of physical therapy supplies and a long-time supporter of the Krannert School of Physical Therapy.

Patterson Professional Excellence Award

This award, also sponsored by Patterson Medical Group, is based upon superior scholastic performance, evidence of potential contribution to physical therapy, and past productivity. The awardee is determined by joint student and faculty ballot. The winner of this award is also the Krannert School of Physical Therapy's nominee for the APTA Mary McMillan Scholarship Award.

Sutphin Professional Development Portfolio Award

This award is given to the student with the most outstanding professional development portfolio, as determined by the KSPT faculty. The award is sponsored by Mr. Charles Sutphin and the Sutphin Center for Clinical Care, a pro-bono clinic in the nearby neighborhood of Fountain Square, which provides KSPT students with early clinical exposure and neighborhood residents with access to physical therapy.

Methodist Sports Medicine Research Award

Each year, this award is presented to a group of students who have completed a two-year research study with a faculty advisor. The award is based upon the group's presentation of the study findings as well as quality and impact of the study on the profession of physical therapy. The award is funded by Dr. Mark Ritter, a Methodist Sports Medicine and UIndy team physician, on behalf of Methodist Sports Medicine, one of the the area's leading providers of outpatient orthopedic physical therapy.

PTA Student Awards

Top Scholar Award

This award is sponsored by Healthcare Therapy Services. To qualify for this award, the individual should have the highest, or close to the highest, grade point average in the class, demonstrate outstanding academic ability and professionalism throughout the PTA program, demonstrate service to the profession and the community at large. Additionally, this graduate, if an APTA member, may be nominated for the Mary McMillan award.  The Mary McMillan award is a national award presented at the Annual Conference of the American Physical Therapy Association. The award includes national recognition as well as a substantial scholarship. 

Nora Francis Founder's Award

Nora Francis was the founding director of the physical therapist assistant program at the University of Indianapolis.  She established and continues to support this award. To qualify for this award, the individual should demonstrate outstanding academic ability as well as attention to detail and have excellent organizational skills.  This person is most often a non-traditional student making a career change, but this is not necessarily a requirement.

Outstanding Contributor Award

This award is sponsored by Advantage Medical. To qualify for this award, the individual should demonstrate constant improvement and the unselfish willingness to assist classmates throughout the PTA curriculum. This person is not usually a top scholar, but a student performing at his/her best.  This individual often demonstrates a willingness to assist the PTA program as well as the profession of physical therapy.