Skip to content

Department of Theatre

Browse Department

Competitions & Awards

Kennedy Center/American College Theatre Festival

UIndy's Department of Theatre is very active in the Kennedy Center/American College Theatre Festival, a national organization that sponsors regional festivals throughout the United States. Involving 18,000 students from colleges and universities nationwide, KCACTF aims to increase the quality of college theatre and recognize excellence. In addition to offering workshops, symposia and award programs, regional respondents select productions to be performed, and the cast, crew and faculty associated with each production are invited to showcase their work and receive feedback. Excellence is honored through awards and scholarships in playwriting, acting, criticism, directing and design.

Irene Ryan Acting Competition

As part of the regional KCACTF, nominees are selected to participate in the Irene Ryan Acting Scholarship Competition, which provides recognition for outstanding performance and financial aid assistance for further education. The Irene Ryan Foundation awards 16 regional and two national scholarships annually. To participate in the competition, nominees choose a partner from their school to prepare two scenes and a monologue. Each year, UIndy students have been nominated to participate, and multiple students have advanced to the semi-final and final rounds of the competition.

Barbizon Design Competition & Stage Management Competition

The Barbizon awards program is also sponsored by the KCACTF. At the regional festival, UIndy students have successfully competed for the Barbizon Awards including Theatrical Design Excellence, Regional Design Projects, the KCACTF Stage Management Fellowship and various other competitions. These opportunities allow student designers and stage managers to receive national recognition for their hard work and to receive feedback from theatre professionals. Student designers who are awarded will have the opportunity to exhibit their work and compete at the national KCACTF festival at Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C. One stage manager per year will be selected for the Stage Management Fellowship and will be given the opportunity to attend the national festival and stage manage the 10-Minute Play competition winners.

Theatre Scholar, Critic, and Dramaturg, and 10-Minute Play Competitions

Students also compete as theatre journalists, critics and dramaturgs (production research) for the Literary Managers and Dramaturgs of the Americas/KCACTF Student Dramaturgy Award, to work as a dramaturg for one of the 10-Minute Plays, and for the Undergraduate Theatre Scholar Award. Student playwrights submit 10-minute plays to be performed at the festival. These opportunities allow students who are more interested in the scholarly or playwriting areas to have their work critiqued by theatre faculty and working professionals. Playwrights have the opportunity to have their plays workshopped and presented at the regional conference.

Departmental Awards – Annual Senior Recognition Banquet

Each year, the Department of Theatre presents several awards to outstanding students (freshman through senior years) at the Theatre Senior Recognition Banquet. 

The Alfred Edyvean, Sr. Freshman Award for Academic Excellence in Theatre

Awarded to the freshmen theatre or theatre teaching major who has earned the highest GPA.

The Allen B. Kellogg Senior Award for Academic Excellence in Theatre

Awarded to the graduating senior theatre or theatre teaching major who has maintained the highest GPA through graduation.

 Albert Brinson Award for Ministry through Drama

Occasionally given in recognition of a student, faculty/staff member, or alum who best exhibits the use of ministry through drama.

Golden Hammer Award for Significant Breakage or Downright Clumsiness

Given to the student who has broken or destroyed the most significant or greatest amount of equipment or material, or whose most dramatic act of clumsiness resulted in personal injury.

Alpha Psi Omega Rising Achiever Award

Alpha Psi Omega, the honorary theatre fraternity, gives this award to a freshman theatre major who exemplifies what our Department of Theatre represents: passion, hard work, commitment and family. The recipient of this award, selected by active members of UIndy's chapter of ΑΨΩ, is a freshman who is a leader among his/her class and who goes above and beyond what is expected. He/she is unafraid to accept a challenge, and constantly and enthusiastically explores new avenues in his/her college theatre career at UIndy – and does so with inspiring positivity.