Lectures & Programs

The academic year at UIndy is rich with lectures and programs on a myriad of topics, which makes it interesting and easy for students to earn Lecture/Performance credit. Many, such as the annual Kellogg Writers Series, are cultural in nature; others are more scholarly. The University Series and Diversity Series were created specifically for students.

University Series

The lectures, programs and special events of the University Series are designed to foster campus discussions focusing on UIndy's four learning goals: social responsibility, creativity, performance, and critical thinking.

2013-14 Events
Stepping Up 

In 2013-14, we return to the issue of social responsibility to emphasize the importance of taking initiative, as an exercise of personal agency or collective response. To take responsibility for social concerns is to step up when we could just as easily stay put or opt out. For individuals and institutions alike, exercising social responsibility involves being intentional in our planning and focused in our efforts.

We begin to take purposeful steps toward enacting change in the public sphere even as we commit ourselves to embody change in our personal lives. In so doing, we may find ourselves achieving a measure of integrity. And we may sometimes discover that we are by no means walking alone in our quest for the common good.

Check the UIndy calendar for times and locations.

Tuesday, Sept. 3
Writers Workshop

Wednesday, Sept. 4
Sutphin Lecture: Sharifa Rhodes-Pitts
The Ground on Which We Stand: Stepping Up in the Age of 'Stand Your Ground'

Tuesday, Oct. 1
Provost's Lecture: Dr. Krista Latham
Beyond Borders: Forensic Science and the Journey Home

Tuesday, Oct. 8
Fairbanks Symposium: Intro from Sen. Richard Lugar, moderated by John Ketzenberger 
The Great Debate. 5 Topics. 10 Opposing Views. 1 Controversial Night. 

Wednesday, Oct. 9
Fairbanks Symposium on Civic Leadership: Sen. Richard Lugar

Thursday, Nov. 7
Interfaith Lecture: Charlie Wiles, director, Center for Interfaith Cooperation
Seeking Community, Pursuing Peace: Interfaith Cooperation in Central Indiana

Wednesday, Nov. 13
Frank Kronenberg
Intercultural Occupational Therapies: A Matter of Social and Occupational Justice? 

Thursday, Nov. 21
Kellogg Writers Series: Roxane Gay

Monday, Jan. 20
MLK Convocation 

Tuesday, Feb. 18
Kellogg Writers Series: Jim McGarrah

Wednesday, April 2
Willie Jennings
The Christian Imagination: Theology and the Origins of Race 

Diversity Series

The Diversity Lecture Series celebrates the diversity on our campus. Six events throughout the year (three per semester) provide a fun and interesting approach to topics such as ethnicity, religion, socioeconomic status and sexual orientation. The programs feature comedians, theatrical performances, musicians, reality-show cast members and professional speakers.

Wednesday, Sept. 25
Strange Like Me
(An interactive theatrical program on racism, sexism and homophobia) 

Tuesday, Oct. 22
Reel Diversity
Brian Johnson

Monday, Nov. 18
Negin Farsad

Wednesday, Feb. 5
Nikki Giovanni

Monday, April 7
Kit Yan