Skip to content
At a Glance

Adult Music Program Faculty

Cello

Dennis McCafferty
317-788-3255
dmccafferty@uindy.edu

  • Teaches cello and string techniques; director of string chamber music
  • MM, Cello

Shaina Lescano (student)


Flute

Jenna Page
pagej@uindy.edu

  • Has performed as a soloist in ensembles and for renowned musicians; flute teacher for various venues in Indianapolis
  • MM, Flute

Guitar

Nemanja Ostojic
ostojicn@uindy.edu

  • Guitar instructor; winner of 16 international guitar competitions; has appeared as a guitar soloist in 19 countries
  • MM, Guitar

Oboe

Crystal Barrett, MM, Oboe

Sue Nelson
317-788-3255
nelsons@uindy.edu

  • Private oboe instructor; active freelance oboist
  • MM, Oboe

Organ

Dr. Marko Petričić
317-788-3257
petricic@uindy.edu

  • Organ instructor; has won numerous awards in organ competitions; active music associate/organist at Northminster Presbyterian Church
  • DMA, Organ

Percussion

Logan Fox (student)


Piano

Dr. Minju Choi
317-788-3227
choim@uindy.edu

  • Has performed throughout the United States, Canada, Europe and Asia as a recitalist, soloist and chamber musician
  • DMA, Piano

Marge Lucas
mlucas@uindy.edu

  • Piano instructor; currently coauthoring a book on neurology, autism and piano
  • MM, Cello

Dr. Gregory Martin
marting@uindy.edu

  • Piano instructor and composer; has performed in the United States, Europe and Japan
  • DMA, Piano

Haruka Ostojic
ostojich@uindy.edu

  • Director of Pre-College & Adult Music Programs; accompanist; piano class
  • MM, Piano

Dr. Rebecca Sorley
317-788-3400
rsorley@uindy.edu

  • Teaches piano to all levels; director of student support and coordinator of the music business concentration
  • DA, Piano

Saxophone

Sophie Faught

Scotty Stepp, MA, Saxophone
stepps@uindy.edu


Theory

Zach Cardwell
cardwellz@uindy.edu

  • Teaches Music Theory; has received numerous awards for his vocal performances; professional church choir musician
  • BM, Music Theory

Trombone

Jeff Appel, BS, Trombone

Freddie Mendoza
317-788-3385 
fmendoza@uindy.edu 

  • Instructor; director of Jazz Studies
  • MM, Trombone

Tuba

Dr. Glen Dimick
dimickg@uindy.edu

  • Tuba instructor and active musician
  • DMA, Tuba

Viola & Violin

Byron Plexico, MM, Violin, Viola

Heather Trammell, Viola

Anastasia Vithova, Violin (student)


Voice

Dr. Kathleen Hacker
khacker@uindy.edu
317-788-3408 

  • Director of vocal studies
  • Has been a regular featured soloist and has sung with many symphony orchestras throughout the U.S.
  • DMA, Voice

Dr. Steven Rickards
srickards@uindy.edu

  • Has received international acclaim as one of America's finest countertenors; sings and teaches internationally
  • Teaches voice at UIndy; codirector of the Vocal Arts Institute
  • DMA, Voice

Dr. Mitzi Westra
317-788-3257
mwestra@uindy.edu 

  • Teaches voice and theory
  • Has performed with various groups and ensembles in Indianapolis as well as The Santa Fe Desert Chorale, a professional chamber ensemble in Sante Fe, New Mexico.
  • DMA, Voice

Dr. Kari York

  • Performance experiences include recitals, oratorio, opera and musical theatre
  • Professional recording artist at Aire Born Studios, a premier recording studio in Central Indiana
  • DMA, Voice