Administration & Trustees

The University is governed by a Board of Trustees that includes the resident bishop of the Indiana Area United Methodist Church, the president of the University and the president of the Alumni Association as ex officio members. The Board sets policy and goals, oversees the University’s finances, approves academic programs and authorizes the awarding of degrees.

The President of UIndy is Dr. Robert L. Manuel, who oversees operations of the University with the assistance of his senior leadership team, the Cabinet

The University has two colleges and seven schools encompassing dozens of academic departments and offices, as well as two centers of excellence, the Center for Aging & Community and the Center of Excellence in Leadership of Learning. In addition, UIndy is home to the Richard G. Lugar Academy and the Institute for Civic Leadership & Mayoral Archives. 

Dr. Robert Manuel became UIndy's ninth president in July 2012.

President Robert Manuel

Dr. Manuel became the University’s ninth president in July 2012 and immediately spearheaded a comprehensive strategic planning process. The resulting strategic planning framework was adopted by UIndy’s Board of Trustees in May 2013. 

Education for Service

UIndy's Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees sets goals and established policy for the University, assures sound management, and provides funds and resources needed to support the operations of the institution. The Board recently approved a five-year plan of capital projects and educational enhancements that comprise a $50 million investment in the university and neighboring community.

Vision 2030

Outlining the Vision

The Vision 2030 strategic planning that engaged the UIndy community during 2012–13 was an intensive process that started with the generation of thousands of ideas and brought us to 32 strategic initiatives—all chosen to move us toward excellence in areas of enrollment and retention, career outcomes, advancement, brand identity, and finance and affordability.